Sidewalk Prophets, comprised of David Frey (lead singer), Ben McDonald (rhythm guitar), Cal Joslin (bass) and Justin Nace (drums) - got its start by leading worship at its alma mater, Anderson University. With a desire to encourage its fellow believers on how to integrate worship with real life, the band played independently for several years before signing a record deal and moving to Nashville. While independent, the band did whatever it took to make it, even if it meant sleeping in the janitor’s closet at some venues and subsiding on dinners of beans and cornbread while honing their skills.

Sidewalk Prophets rode the popularity of their first Word Records release, These Simple Truths, to a Dove Award for Best New Artist and a nomination for Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year. "The Words I Would Say" reached No. 3, "You Can Have Me" entered the Top 20, a Christmas single, "Hope Was Born This Night", reached the Top 10, and "You Love Me Anyway" reached No. 1 on the Billboard Christian Singles chart. The band received another Dove nomination for Group of the Year in 2011.